Home » Australian Open 2016 Novak Djokovic vs Andy Murray Finals Jan 31
Novak Djokovic vs Andy Murray Finals

Australian Open 2016 Novak Djokovic vs Andy Murray Finals Jan 31

Australian Open 2016 Novak Djokovic vs Andy Murray replay finals Jan 31, Men’s score result, reaction, highlights and recap.

MELBOURNE, Australia— Novak Djokovic has added another Grand Slam title to his rapidly growing collection.

At the Australian Open on Sunday evening, Djokovic won his 11th Grand Slam singles title, 6-1, 7-5, 7-6(3), over Andy Murray. Djokovic, the top-ranked player in the world, now has six Australian Open titles, tied with Australian legend Roy Emerson for the most in tennis history. The 28-year-old Serbian has won the past three Grand Slam singles titles and four out of the past five, with his only defeat coming in last year’s French Open final.
novak djokovic vs andy murray final
The victory puts Djokovic in a tie with Rod Laver and Bjorn Borg for total Grand Slam singles titles, and leaves him trailing just four men in the record books: Emerson (12), Pete Sampras (14), Rafael Nadal (14) and Roger Federer (17).

Novak Djokovic vs Andy Murray replay match-up on Sunday to clinch his sixth Australian Open crown and tie the record number of titles claimed by Roy Emerson between 1961 and 1967.

This triumph also marked the fourth time Djokovic has defeated Murray in the Melbourne final; he previously overcame the Scot in 2011, 2013 and 2015. Eurosport illustrated Djokovic’s monstrous Grand Slam achievements:

Sunday’s win was the third time in succession the Serbian has beaten Murray in straight sets; he routed his adversary at both the Shanghai Masters and Paris Masters last year.

Murray was visibly upset with his latest loss to Djokovic, but he made sure to send a message to his pregnant wife Kim in his post-match comments, per BBC Sport:

What a tweet! ?https://t.co/RCNyoFwssa
“The world’s greatest people:
Novak Djokovic
Bill Gates
Ana Ivanovic…” pic.twitter.com/LU0jrtV55w

— Eurosport UK (@Eurosport_UK) January 31, 2016